Governance & Administration » Luxembourg Institute of Health
Home » Governance & Administration

Governance & administration

LIH governance includes the Executive Committee and the Board of Directors. 

Board of directors

The Board of Directors oversees the work of the Luxembourg Institute of Health. It is responsible for the general organisation, for budget control, for framework contracts with partner organisations and for approving new strategy. 

The Government nominated the new Board of Directors, which took office on January 1st 2020, as follows: 

  • Gregor 
    Shoulder Surgeon, Hôpitaux Robert Schuman (Luxembourg), President of the Board, Independent Director
  • Xavier
    Deputy Administrative Director, Health Directorate of the Ministry of Health (Luxembourg), Vice-President of the Board
  • Lysiane
    Retired, former Vice-President, BCEE (Luxembourg)
  • Françoise
    President of the Observatoire National de la Santé (Luxembourg)
  • Viviane
    Head of Unit HIV / AIDS and other sexually transmitted or blood-borne infections, Robert Koch-Institut (Germany)
  • Carole
    Strategic Advisor, Health Technologies Directorate of the Ministry of Economy (Luxembourg)
  • Alain
    Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine (United Kingdom)
  • Robert
    Medical doctor specialised in Urology, Centre Hospitalier Emile Mayrisch (Luxembourg)
  • Pierrot
    Lawyer (Luxembourg)
  • Jérôme
    Group Leader Department of Cancer Research, President of the Conseil de Concertation (Luxembourg)
  • Jonathan
    Group Leader Department of Infection & Immunity, President of the Delegation de Personnel (Luxembourg)

In addition, Pierre Misteri, Advisor at the Ministry of Higher Education and Research, is Government Commissioner (“Commissaire du Gouvernement”). 

executive committee

The Executive Committee is responsible for the implementation of the strategy approved by the board of administration. It guarantees compliance with ethical principles, conventions and national laws. 

The Executive Committee is composed of: 

  • Ulf
    Chief Executive Officer
  • Hermann
    Director of Translational Medicine Operations Hub
  • Markus
    Professor, MD
    Research Group Leader
    Director of Department of Infection and Immunity
  • Guy
    Research Group Leader
    Director of Department of Precision Health

Scientific Advisory Boards 

The Scientific Advisory Boards (SAB) are consultative bodies to the Board of Administration and are composed of high-ranking external scientists.  The SABs’ composition reflects the scientific areas in which the Luxembourg Institute of Health is active. 


From business development support – and specifically the exploitation of the scientific, economic and societal value and applications of research results − to scientific project management support and assistance in securing external funding opportunities: a rigorous quality management system, legal and data protection framework is in place in order to ensure that research activities are carried out in full compliance with current best practices and regulatory requirement, thereby guaranteeing the quality, transparency and rigour of the institute’s operations.

Make a donation